Mother of Pearl

By: Melinda Haynes

Price: $27.00

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Collectible: Very Good


Hardcover with dustjacket. No clipping, or marks of any kind. Binding tight, pages clean. 1st edition/ 1st Printing. Full number line.


From the Publisher...


Fans of Cold Sassy Tree, Kaye Gibbons, and Fried Green Tomatoes will delight in this lyrical first novel set in a small Mississippi town in the late 1950s. Populated by wonderfully rich and original characters, and weaving themes of identity and the true meaning of family, the story revolves around twenty-eight-year old Even Grade, a black man who grew up an orphan, and Valuable Korner, a fifteen-year old white girl who is the daughter of the town whore and an unknown father. Each is seeking family, love, and commitment. Their paths cross through Joody Two Sun, a seer, who becomes Even Grade's lover. Enhanced by Melinda Haynes' exquisite prose, which captures the irony and beauty of life in the deep South, Mother of Pearl heralds the arrival of a powerful new voice in American fiction.

Title: Mother of Pearl

Author Name: Melinda Haynes

Categories: Psychological,

Edition: First Edition

Publisher: Hyperion: 1999

ISBN Number: 0786864850

ISBN Number 13: 9780786864850

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Collectible: Very Good

Jacket Condition: Very Good

Type: Hardcover

Seller ID: 022434